Review: Smartlab Smartphone Science Giveaway

*Contains an affiliate link*

 

Our review of the Smartlab Smartphone Science experiments kit that we were sent recently by the wonderful DKL Toys. Twenty experiments to try using a mobile phone.

 

Smartlab Smartphone Science review

 

The boys are at a funny in between age now, where they don’t really play with toys as such, but they still get bored with just their screens to amuse them. When we were asked to choose something from Smartlab to review, the Smartphone Science Lab seemed like the ideal option.

 

My youngest loves science and learning how things work and what they are made of and they both love their phones. This combines the two loves and makes their phones a bit more exciting and educational. I love anything that is a bit sneakily educational, where kids have fun but learn almost without realising it.

 

Here is what was in the box when it arrived, along with a special instruction/guide-book for the experiments.

 

Smartlab Smartphone Science

 

Inside the Smartphone Science box:

 

Microscope with LED

Universal Mount with Focusing Ring

Filter Adaptor

2 Polarizing Filters

Magenta Filter

Cyan Filter

Slide with 3 specimens

Carrying Case – this is the plastic clear packaging that it comes in, don’t throw this away.

 

We started off with just trying out the microscope and looking at things around the house. It was really easy to get the parts together to start using the microscope. ¬†My phone wasn’t great for it, as the Huawei P9 has two lenses, so as you can see in the top two photos below, I was also taking photographs of and seeing the inside of the microscope as I used it.

 

It worked perfectly well on the boys’ iPhones though, but we used my phone more as my camera is a much better quality. The first photo below is my jumper close up. It looks wet bizarrely, but it is just a very close detailed shot. We were really impressed with the detail that we could see.

 

The second photo is part of Harley’s fingerprint on his finger. It actually looks a bit gross, but that’s even more appealing to tweens. It is also not quite as grim as the last photo.

 

Smartlab smartphone science microscope photos

 

The last photo is the one taken on Harley’s phone and is actually the fly in the slide that comes with the set. Yuck, but amazing to see as it is absolutely tiny and looks just like a small speck on the slide.

 

The microscope is brilliant once you get used to it. The boys and I struggled at times to get a clear view of things, as you do need a very steady hand. If you get this set yourself, remember to zoom in on your phone screen to get a clearer shot. It was a lot of fun investigating things around the house with it and the LED light on it comes in handy with the darker winter lighting.

 

There are lots of experiments to try in the booklet guide that comes with the set.

 

Smartlab smartphone science booklet

 

The boys were both amazed that the television screen had so many ‘dots’ to it once they got close up. It had never occurred to them before to question how a television works, as it is just ‘there’.

 

The Smartphone Science set is great for getting children to question more about the world around them and to really think more, rather than just take some things for granted. They both also love that they now know that putting their phone inside a bowl or cup when the music is playing on it, creates a kind of speaker effect.

 

Even I learned a few new things. This would make a great gift for a tech savvy Tween, or even a slightly younger child if they have a phone or you are willing to share your own.

 

If you would like to buy your own Smartlab Smartphone Science experiment set, you can buy it in various places including Amazon or you can also try to win one via the Gleam widget below.

 

My usual competition rules apply and can be found here – A Cornish Mum Blog’s Competition Terms and Conditions. Good Luck!

 

Stevie x

 

Smartlab Smartphone Science Set

*I was sent this item for the purpose of this post, but as always all thoughts and opinions are my own and honest. As stated at the top of the post, the post contains an affiliate link, whereby if you purchase via the link I will be compensated.
Share:

129 Comments

  1. Tracy Nixon
    19 February 2017 / 8:17 am

    I loved my My Little Pony Show Stable! I had lots of My Little Ponies!

  2. emma walters
    19 February 2017 / 8:18 am

    i loved playing with all my brother’s cars :)

  3. msedollyp
    19 February 2017 / 1:03 pm

    fuzzy felt and rollerskates (not at same time!)

  4. Kate Davies
    19 February 2017 / 1:36 pm

    I love my polly pocket sets.

  5. laura banks
    19 February 2017 / 5:08 pm

    my knight rider car

  6. 20 February 2017 / 1:49 pm

    Apart from my crayons and colouring books, it was Meccano

  7. OrkneyViking
    20 February 2017 / 7:10 pm

    looks fun!

  8. Danielle Spencer
    20 February 2017 / 8:52 pm

    Ben the badger, the first toy I bought with my own money, I still have him.

  9. Jo Richards
    20 February 2017 / 8:52 pm

    I had a little Lamb bear who was dressed in a red dress and matching bonnet, I used to take her everywhere with me :)

  10. Suzanne
    20 February 2017 / 8:53 pm

    I had endless fun with Lego.

  11. Rachel Craig
    20 February 2017 / 9:00 pm

    Talking Doll called Chatty Cathy.

  12. Gary Topley
    20 February 2017 / 9:44 pm

    Soldiers Castle

  13. Helen Tovell
    20 February 2017 / 10:12 pm

    My little pony dream castle

  14. Mel Turner
    20 February 2017 / 10:34 pm

    My Cindy house

  15. Sarahann Tonner
    20 February 2017 / 10:50 pm

    I loved my Tiny Tears doll.

  16. Sarah Mackay
    20 February 2017 / 11:06 pm

    I loved my lego sets as a kid

  17. jessica woods
    21 February 2017 / 12:30 am

    My farm set :)

  18. lyn burgess
    21 February 2017 / 12:35 am

    my dolls house

  19. Fiona K
    21 February 2017 / 6:41 am

    a talking Mickey Mouse

  20. MM
    21 February 2017 / 6:48 am

    My star wars figures!

  21. caroline walliss
    21 February 2017 / 8:00 am

    My barbie doll

  22. Becky Yeomans
    21 February 2017 / 8:08 am

    I loved my polly pockets!

  23. Caroline Clarke
    21 February 2017 / 8:11 am

    Speak N Spell was my favourite toy.

  24. Karen Lloyd
    21 February 2017 / 8:36 am

    As a child my favourite toys were my Sindy caravan and car.

  25. Barbara Handley
    21 February 2017 / 10:24 am

    My Rosebud doll.

  26. iain maciver
    21 February 2017 / 10:29 am

    action man

  27. Rachael ashmore
    21 February 2017 / 11:36 am

    My bike we were always outside when we were young

  28. Sarah Lee
    21 February 2017 / 12:02 pm

    My Nintendo Gameboy

  29. Jo Carroll
    21 February 2017 / 12:38 pm

    You couldn’t prise me away from my Raleigh Chopper to be honest. I was always on the go – even back then.

  30. Lisa Parker
    21 February 2017 / 3:12 pm

    Lego! I loved it x

  31. christine shelley
    21 February 2017 / 8:17 pm

    My china doll dressed by my nan

  32. Iris Tilley
    21 February 2017 / 8:47 pm

    I use to love my uncle’s old train sets

  33. andrea tinkler
    21 February 2017 / 10:05 pm

    Loved my barbies and their clothes x

  34. Lorna Ledger
    21 February 2017 / 11:20 pm

    Really it was playing outside, but I also liked Lego ;0 x

  35. Kim Styles
    22 February 2017 / 3:14 pm

    My Tiny tears was my favourite toy

  36. Jenny Brady
    22 February 2017 / 4:07 pm

    I loved Mousetrap.

  37. Solange
    23 February 2017 / 2:16 am

    Baby Talk doll.

  38. Angela McDonald
    23 February 2017 / 1:38 pm

    I loved my tiny tears doll!

  39. kelly wheelhouse
    23 February 2017 / 2:02 pm

    classic my little pony was my favourite. I had loads of the figures. I remember one birthday all I received from my friends were my little pony figures and it was great!

  40. Elizabeth Smith
    23 February 2017 / 2:48 pm

    Lego – even though it always led to arguments with my brother

  41. Peter Watson
    23 February 2017 / 3:11 pm

    My first Scalextric set

  42. Martina Pichova
    23 February 2017 / 3:51 pm

    I loved my monchichi.

  43. Angela Treadway
    23 February 2017 / 5:40 pm

    little mermaid doll x

  44. Laura Pritchard
    23 February 2017 / 6:02 pm

    I loved my Barbies – I played some brutally realistic games with them!

  45. aj
    23 February 2017 / 9:42 pm

    a doll that my Gran brought me back from Spain.

  46. Rachel Heap
    23 February 2017 / 9:48 pm

    Lego was my favourite

  47. Harline
    24 February 2017 / 4:16 am

    A monkey that use to hang from things at the time I wanted a real monkey but I did love this one I had it several years

  48. Ursula Hunt
    24 February 2017 / 11:10 am

    The old science kits where everything smelt of sulphur

  49. jen lloyd
    24 February 2017 / 1:28 pm

    mine was teddy ruxpin!

  50. Lynsey Buchanan
    24 February 2017 / 8:41 pm

    I had a Big Yellow Teapot that I loved.

  51. Margaret GALLAGHER
    25 February 2017 / 12:44 am

    I loved my Tingling Trudee doll – she was lovely

  52. Farhana
    25 February 2017 / 4:28 pm

    My polly pocket toy!

  53. Zoe Trelfa-Porter
    25 February 2017 / 10:53 pm

    A soft toy fox radio

  54. Jo Glasspool
    26 February 2017 / 2:31 am

    My BMX, loved that bike.

  55. Chris Andrews
    26 February 2017 / 10:17 am

    What was your favourite toy as a child? . . .. l loved Lego . . . . and books

  56. bella smyth
    26 February 2017 / 8:58 pm

    A cardboard box! i kid you not there was toys but the other kids played with them and they didnt like sharing in the childrens home in the 70s

    • 26 February 2017 / 10:02 pm

      This makes me feel a bit sad! Though if nothing else it’s surprising how many imaginative games a child can make up with a box

      Stevie x

  57. ADEINNE TONNER
    27 February 2017 / 2:39 pm

    My favourite toys when i was a child was my Barbie dolls lovely playing with them.

  58. maria blythin
    27 February 2017 / 8:14 pm

    my favourite was playing marbles x

  59. katrina walsh
    27 February 2017 / 9:46 pm

    I loved my finger print kit. I thought I was virtually a cop with it lol

  60. Ruth Harwood
    28 February 2017 / 10:25 am

    My barbie house xx

  61. Susan Smith
    28 February 2017 / 8:58 pm

    I was quite a tomboy when i was little, so my favourite toy was a western rifle, my mum says it went everywhere with me

  62. LESLEY BRADLEY
    28 February 2017 / 11:05 pm

    I loved Mousetrap!

  63. amy bondoc
    1 March 2017 / 11:18 pm

    had to be my huge lego collection!

  64. Becky John
    2 March 2017 / 8:26 pm

    Monopoly we used to play for hours

  65. Christina Palmer
    2 March 2017 / 10:25 pm

    I loved my skateboard

  66. Rich Tyler
    3 March 2017 / 1:28 am

    Has to be LEGO!!!

  67. Mickie Bull
    3 March 2017 / 2:04 pm

    Lego!

  68. Shannon O'Donnell
    3 March 2017 / 11:26 pm

    Barbies and my ps2

  69. janine atkin
    4 March 2017 / 9:26 pm

    i was always a bookwork and loved anything bookish

  70. A.E. ADKINS
    5 March 2017 / 12:12 am

    My blue and red tricycle with a tipper at the back – it was just fab!

  71. Heather Brannan
    5 March 2017 / 10:37 am

    Tiny tears was my favourite toy

  72. Sam McKean
    5 March 2017 / 11:10 am

    I adored my fisher price tree house, I carried it everywhere like a bag and loved making up stories with the little people inside.

  73. Robert Price
    5 March 2017 / 4:25 pm

    Meccano

  74. Katy Malkin
    5 March 2017 / 9:21 pm

    Sindy doll and dollhouse! Also loved polly pocket.

  75. rebecca smith
    6 March 2017 / 10:35 am

    i loved my barbie dolls

  76. Paula T
    6 March 2017 / 4:37 pm

    I love my pull along Webster and lil lay bug pram <3

  77. EJ Dunn
    6 March 2017 / 6:29 pm

    My Polly Pocket

  78. Eileen Tingle
    6 March 2017 / 8:12 pm

    I had a red wooden yoyo that I took everywhere with me.

  79. JULIE WARD
    6 March 2017 / 9:44 pm

    My compendium of games, hours of fun

  80. Kimberley Ryan
    7 March 2017 / 10:23 am

    it was my view master and slides

  81. Maggie Norvell
    7 March 2017 / 4:26 pm

    I loved my Meccano

  82. Sadiyya Maryam
    9 March 2017 / 12:07 am

    My wonderful dolls house.

  83. michelle o'neill
    9 March 2017 / 6:29 am

    my tiny tears x

  84. T Brailey
    9 March 2017 / 6:48 am

    My dolls house. I had hours of fun with it. It was only a small basic one but I loved it.

  85. donna l jones
    9 March 2017 / 12:18 pm

    my little ponies

  86. Anthea Holloway
    9 March 2017 / 6:58 pm

    My little stuffed toy horse which I called Neddy

  87. Lauren Stebbings
    9 March 2017 / 7:01 pm

    I loved my chemistry set and my sylvanian families :-)

  88. sheri Darby
    9 March 2017 / 8:26 pm

    Our Etch-a-sketch

  89. Nancy Townsend
    10 March 2017 / 6:45 am

    My Sindy doll horse, and Lego

  90. Andrew Hindley
    10 March 2017 / 1:01 pm

    Pogo Stick

  91. Jenny Rogers
    10 March 2017 / 2:08 pm

    I loved my Lego and my Sindy doll.

  92. Jo Hutchinson
    10 March 2017 / 3:24 pm

    I loved my carebear cloud car.

  93. Rebecca Howells (@PeanutHog)
    10 March 2017 / 3:52 pm

    I loved my skipping rope and hopper.

  94. Mandy S
    10 March 2017 / 8:33 pm

    A white teddy with blue eyes.

  95. Diana
    10 March 2017 / 9:44 pm

    My dolly :)

  96. Victoria Prince
    11 March 2017 / 9:58 am

    I loved making things with meccano :) I had a meccano drill which I loved in particular!

  97. claire woods
    11 March 2017 / 10:03 am

    My Little Ponies

  98. Angela Wilcox
    11 March 2017 / 10:31 am

    Lego and fuzzy felts

  99. Edward Guerreiro
    11 March 2017 / 1:09 pm

    It was my Lion-O figure, from Thundercats.

  100. sallyanne rose
    11 March 2017 / 3:57 pm

    lego

  101. Cathy O
    11 March 2017 / 4:45 pm

    My pram and doll

  102. Lucy Carter
    11 March 2017 / 5:59 pm

    My little pony castle

  103. Donna Caldwell
    11 March 2017 / 8:00 pm

    I loved my roller boots

  104. 11 March 2017 / 11:08 pm

    i loved playing with my brothers lego and star wars figures – i wasnt actually allowed to play with any of them so i would sneak into his room when he was out :)

  105. Jane Middleton
    11 March 2017 / 11:32 pm

    Lego was great

  106. Nick B
    12 March 2017 / 12:09 am

    Action Man!

  107. Tracey Hallmark
    12 March 2017 / 5:11 am

    My favourite was my Microscope I used to look at all sorts through the lens I was really interested in how things were made up!

  108. Kirsty Woods
    12 March 2017 / 6:24 am

    My tiny tears doll

  109. Kirsty Woods
    12 March 2017 / 6:24 am

    My tiny tears doll

  110. Susan Trubey
    12 March 2017 / 6:36 am

    A rugby ball

  111. Kim Neville
    12 March 2017 / 8:06 am

    My Tiny Tears doll and taking her for a walk in pram

  112. Geoff Hibbert
    12 March 2017 / 8:21 am

    My Dinky cars

  113. Tricia cowell
    12 March 2017 / 10:18 am

    I loved Tiny Tears

  114. Derek Wilson
    12 March 2017 / 10:22 am

    For me, it was those classic games like Ker-plunk, Connect 4 and Operation :-)

  115. Susan B
    12 March 2017 / 12:06 pm

    My favourite toy was a beaten up old metal tipper truck.

  116. Sarah Parker
    12 March 2017 / 2:06 pm

    my bike :)

  117. Sarah Parker
    12 March 2017 / 2:06 pm

    my bike :)

  118. Stephen Little
    12 March 2017 / 2:23 pm

    Spirograph

  119. Patricia Avery
    12 March 2017 / 2:29 pm

    Magic Robot :)

  120. jackie curran
    12 March 2017 / 3:11 pm

    mine was my tiny tears doll.

  121. natalee gosiewski
    12 March 2017 / 5:58 pm

    sotty puppet he list an eye and nose

  122. Natalie Crossan
    12 March 2017 / 8:11 pm

    my tiny tears doll xxx

  123. Jeremy Andrews
    12 March 2017 / 8:28 pm

    A fort with soldiers

  124. Hayley West
    12 March 2017 / 9:13 pm

    I loved Playmobil. Still do, actually :)

  125. Tee simpson
    12 March 2017 / 10:07 pm

    I love my polly pocket sets

  126. Rachel Morgan
    12 March 2017 / 10:28 pm

    My Sindy horse, it had a detachable saddle and bridle x

  127. Anna V.
    12 March 2017 / 11:36 pm

    I loved to play with Mecano – especially with the building crane that I built. It had its place in my Lego “village”, where my Barbie and Ken lived. :-)

  128. Ben Robb
    12 March 2017 / 11:49 pm

    MY TEDDY BEAR!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *