Valley Mill – Review

As part of my 1 year blog birthday celebrations, the lovely Valley Mill asked me to review some of their natural soy wax melts and their natural shea butter and coconut oil soap.

For my readers, they have also asked me to run a competition to help to say thank you for your support in the last year as I have grown the A Cornish Mum site! I’ll let you know what you can win further down the page, after I have let you know what I thought of Valley Mill and their products.

 

Valley Mill Blog competition

 

Valley Mill products are handmade in Wales and I loved the packaging that my Valley Mills order arrived in, it fits well with the packaging of the actual products and with the natural ethos of the company.

Valley Mill

I chose the Jasmine wax melts, as I love the smell of Jasmine. I’d never used wax melts before, so I wasn’t really sure what to expect. Firstly I have to say that the Jasmine ones smell absolutely beautiful and it’s a very relaxing scent. Possibly a good idea in this house, as apparently I’m a bit of a ‘stress head’ – no idea what they mean at all.

 

Valley Mill Wax Melts

 

If you like my burner, it was £3 in the sale at Asda – bargain! The wax melts come in a pack of 5 that are meant to last for 60 hours in total, so 12 hours each and I can believe it. I have used the one in the photos for at least 5 hours so far and there is still loads of wax left.

I’m definitely a wax melt convert! I was also sent a Tea Tree and Witch Hazel 100% natural soap which smells so much nicer than it sounds! It also actually made my hands well softer after use, rather than more dry like a lot of soaps.

With the way my skin has broken out recently, it is also my new face wash for this week, as witch hazel used to work brilliantly when I was an actual teen, rather than just 32-year-old who ate too much junk food over Christmas…

 

Valley Mill Soap

 

If you fancy winning yourself some of Valley Mill’s wonderful products then I have just the competition for you! Valley Mill are offering one lucky person Welsh Cake, Mixed Berries and Jasmine melts, along with Grapefruit & Fennel and Lavender & Citronella soaps! You can also pop to the Valley Mill website to purchase them, if you aren’t feeling lucky!

You can enter via the rafflecopter below, but please do check out my Competition Terms and conditions before entering. UK Only. Keep an eye out for other competitions in my Competition section, as there are more to come this week!

Stevie x

*I was sent the products above for the purpose of this review and competition, but all thoughts and opinions as ever are my own and honest*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Share:

195 Comments

  1. Alica
    14 January 2016 / 1:40 pm

    Happy Blogiversary!! :)

    I really like the sound of the Chocolate Truffle Soy Melts!

    • 14 January 2016 / 1:53 pm

      Thank you and good luck!

      Stevie :)

    • Beryl drake
      19 January 2016 / 9:36 pm

      Welsh slate heart shaped clock

  2. Tracy Nixon
    14 January 2016 / 2:30 pm

    I think their Lemon Curd sounds delicious!

  3. Isabel O
    14 January 2016 / 2:39 pm

    I like the sound of the lavender and citronella soap. :)

  4. Margaret Clarkson
    14 January 2016 / 2:44 pm

    The natural soaps sound splendid. Not sure if Orange and Cinnamon or Rosemary and Lime would be the nicest.

  5. 14 January 2016 / 2:53 pm

    The orange & cinnamon soap sounds lovely

  6. lindsey stuart
    14 January 2016 / 2:54 pm

    I love the mixed berries melts in a box, what a super gift idea too :)

  7. Jennifer Haden
    14 January 2016 / 2:54 pm

    Happy Blog anniversary! :D I think my fav. item from their’s is the orange and cinnamon soap, sounds amazing!

  8. Olga carpenter
    14 January 2016 / 2:58 pm

    I like the strawberry

  9. aaron broad
    14 January 2016 / 3:13 pm

    The mixed berries soy candle sounds peng

  10. Tania Atfield
    14 January 2016 / 4:03 pm

    Natural soap, orange and cinnamon

  11. Nicola Dow
    14 January 2016 / 4:16 pm

    Natural Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Soap sounds amazing :)

    Happy Birthday x

  12. clair downham
    14 January 2016 / 5:06 pm

    the mince pie candle thankyou

  13. Johanne currie
    14 January 2016 / 6:15 pm

    Doubles sided throw looks lovely oh and happy birthday x luv

  14. Lesley Bambridge
    14 January 2016 / 7:11 pm

    So many nice things. But the cappuccino mug is lovely

  15. Shirley Evans
    14 January 2016 / 7:36 pm

    I love lemon curd

  16. laura banks
    14 January 2016 / 8:03 pm

    love the slate cakestand

  17. SUE WICKENS
    14 January 2016 / 8:14 pm

    ORANGE AND CINNAMON SOAP

  18. 14 January 2016 / 8:43 pm

    Without a doubt my favourite item is the Welsh dragon slate clock. <3 it!! Although I also like the idea of the slate engraved photographs. I'd love to know where the slate is from. It says Welsh slate but I'd love to know which area. I have a lot of interest in Welsh slate! (As you can tell!!)

    The soaps look pretty lovely as well! :) x

    • 19 January 2016 / 12:48 pm

      Hi Becster, we get the slate from Blaenau Ffestiniog in North Wales. We then handcraft each item in Crynant, South Wales :)

      • 19 January 2016 / 1:27 pm

        I love that you’ve given her this info…. I also love Welsh place names, I would not even attempt to try saying that first one ;)

        Stevie x

        • 2 February 2016 / 12:39 pm

          Haha! It’s easy… honestly! ;)

  19. pete c
    14 January 2016 / 9:07 pm

    Orange & Cinnamon Natural Soap

  20. Kirsty Fox
    14 January 2016 / 9:46 pm

    I like the Slate Sign, 300 X 600 X 20mm

  21. Samantha loughlin
    14 January 2016 / 11:21 pm

    The Welsh slate place matts are fab xx

  22. 15 January 2016 / 9:34 am

    My goodness they all sound delicious! I have never tried melts before but like like the idea of them lasting 12 hrs each too. I think the mixed berries sound lovely and the lavender and citronella soaps must smell amazing! What a brilliant competition, goodluck everyone! xx

  23. Ray Dodds
    15 January 2016 / 9:40 am

    Welsh slate house nameplate

  24. amy fidler
    15 January 2016 / 1:17 pm

    def the slate boards x

  25. Amelia Kennedy
    15 January 2016 / 1:39 pm

    The Bergamot and Basil soap sounds lovely!

  26. Rena plumridge
    15 January 2016 / 1:58 pm

    orange & cinnamon soap sounds lovely

  27. Sarah Brokenshire
    15 January 2016 / 2:07 pm

    I love the mince pie candle :)

  28. helen tovell
    15 January 2016 / 2:30 pm

    The Herb Chopper

  29. Pamela Gossage
    15 January 2016 / 2:31 pm

    Welsh Cake Soy Melts

  30. Alison
    15 January 2016 / 2:32 pm

    The coconut soy melts

  31. Alison Johnson
    15 January 2016 / 2:53 pm

    I like the slate heart shaped coaster set.

  32. Kerry Kilmister
    15 January 2016 / 4:16 pm

    I would love to try the Natural Soap Lavender & Citronella

  33. darren hay
    15 January 2016 / 7:00 pm

    Natural Soap Orange & Cinnamon looks great

  34. Laura Pritchard
    15 January 2016 / 7:04 pm

    The Welsh Slate Memo Board in Small

  35. Emily Clark
    15 January 2016 / 7:21 pm

    I like the look of the Holly Berry soy candle!

  36. Iris W
    15 January 2016 / 7:34 pm

    The spiced apple soy candle sounds lovely

  37. Annette Oliver
    15 January 2016 / 8:05 pm

    Welsh slate clock deep

  38. Ashleigh Allan
    15 January 2016 / 8:06 pm

    i love the slate cheeseboards!

  39. Karis
    15 January 2016 / 8:43 pm

    Raspberry Wine

  40. JODIE BEAUMONT
    15 January 2016 / 9:12 pm

    the natural soap orange and cinnamon sounds amazing

  41. Louise Smith
    15 January 2016 / 9:27 pm

    Love the Welsh Slate Tray – Large Chrome

  42. Justine Meyer
    15 January 2016 / 10:00 pm

    love the photo engraving x

  43. Leanne Lunn
    15 January 2016 / 10:41 pm

    The deep slate clock

  44. Steven Bufton
    15 January 2016 / 11:07 pm

    Natural Soap Orange & Cinnamon sounds nice

  45. claire griffiths
    16 January 2016 / 2:07 am

    i like the welsh slate cheeseboard

  46. Heather Knotts
    16 January 2016 / 8:08 am

    Love the Round Welsh Slate Placemats

  47. Becky John
    16 January 2016 / 9:03 am

    Natural Tea Tree & Witch Hazel Soap

  48. Samir Lola
    16 January 2016 / 9:30 am

    Lemon curd mmmm

  49. Jayne T
    16 January 2016 / 9:58 am

    Wishing you a very happy blog birthday. I really like the lovely Large Block Check Wool Throw, thanks. xx

  50. Christine Constable
    16 January 2016 / 11:00 am

    I love the coconut soy melts because for me coconut is a very evocative scent and evokes really good memories.

  51. 16 January 2016 / 11:48 am

    Happy Anniversary!

    The Jasmine Soy Candle :)

  52. Rich Tyler
    16 January 2016 / 12:04 pm

    coconut soy melts

  53. claire woods
    16 January 2016 / 2:07 pm

    Heart Shaped Welsh Slate Coasters

  54. Christine Caple
    16 January 2016 / 6:50 pm

    I love the Cream Reversible Spotty Throw

  55. Danielle Cresswell
    16 January 2016 / 9:29 pm

    The engraved photographs x

  56. k walsh
    16 January 2016 / 9:39 pm

    Its got to be Lemon Curd. What a fantastic blast from the past!

  57. Claire Ward
    17 January 2016 / 10:57 am

    Chocolate truffle soy melts sound lovely

  58. Lorraine Bell
    17 January 2016 / 11:19 am

    The standard mug is lovely

  59. sharon martin
    17 January 2016 / 11:26 am

    oh my goodness so hard to choose just one item , i love the Welsh Slate Clock – Deep But also adore the block check wool rug & bara brith/welshcake soy candles. So many Fabulous products :)

  60. 17 January 2016 / 2:14 pm

    I love the sound of the lavender and citronella ntural soap. I love to collect soaps, I don’t really use them straight away, I just love to smell them! xx

  61. Michelle O'Neill
    17 January 2016 / 6:49 pm

    Cream Reversible Spotty Throw

  62. Jo m welsh
    17 January 2016 / 8:03 pm

    I love this throw
    Large Windowpane Wool Throw
    £45.00

  63. 17 January 2016 / 8:49 pm

    the natural soaps look lovely. tea tree is my favourite scent so id love to try the tea tree and witch hazel one

  64. adeinne tonner
    17 January 2016 / 8:50 pm

    I really like the welsh wool pram blanket

  65. Lorraine Duff
    17 January 2016 / 10:32 pm

    orange and cinnamon soap sounds great :D

  66. 17 January 2016 / 10:53 pm

    I really like the look of the welsh slate, would add some sophistication to our dinner parties and being Welsh I would like the connection :) x

  67. Maggie E
    17 January 2016 / 11:45 pm

    I haven’t ever tried anything from your site but I love the sound of your natural soaps – particularly the lavender and citronella soaps

  68. Lorna Totton
    18 January 2016 / 1:32 am

    The Orange and Cinnamon Soap sounds lovely.

  69. Barbara daniels
    18 January 2016 / 8:16 am

    The welsh slate pack

  70. Lucy I
    18 January 2016 / 8:22 am

    I like all the Welsh slate stuff

  71. Laura Jeffs
    18 January 2016 / 8:45 am

    My favourite is the Natural Soap Orange & Cinnamon

  72. Marycarol
    18 January 2016 / 9:58 am

    Love the welsh slate products especially the heart shaped cheese board xx

  73. Stephanie Whitehouse
    18 January 2016 / 10:42 am

    I fancy a Large Block Check Wool Throw
    Such lovely soft colours

  74. Katie leavy
    18 January 2016 / 7:07 pm

    big fan of coconut so the soy candle sounds lovely but really also like the idea of the natural soaps paticularly the orange and cinnamon as I love the smell of cinnamon and love that they are completely natural

  75. Ruth Wollerton
    18 January 2016 / 10:32 pm

    The mixed berry melts, sound BERRY delicious, good enough to eat

  76. 18 January 2016 / 10:35 pm

    Natural Soap Orange & Cinnamon

  77. David Crabb
    18 January 2016 / 10:58 pm

    Really like the slate place mats!

  78. Kelly L
    19 January 2016 / 12:37 am

    Orange and Cinnamon soap!

  79. JUDY PARSLOW
    19 January 2016 / 7:51 am

    Jasmine Soy Melts sound lovely

  80. charlotte qualter
    19 January 2016 / 8:22 am

    i would really love the herb chopper have been after one for ages x

  81. Hayley Todd
    19 January 2016 / 9:17 am

    Being a Welsh girl myself, I must admit that I absolutely love the Siwgr, Coffi, Te, Bara and Teisen Storage Tins!

  82. Georgina davies / prince
    19 January 2016 / 10:30 am

    The Mixed Berries Soy Candle

  83. Karen Laing
    19 January 2016 / 2:56 pm

    I love the Welsh slate,in particular the clock,plain,I think is gorgeous.To be honest there are lots of beautiful things in slate and it’s difficult to choose just one x

  84. Gemma Massey
    19 January 2016 / 3:56 pm

    The chocolate truffle soy melts look lush x

  85. Kim Styles
    19 January 2016 / 6:36 pm

    wow the Roast Chestnut Soy Candle sound gorgeous- great for christmas

  86. 19 January 2016 / 7:02 pm

    Photo engraving is amazing never seen them on slate before stunning x

  87. Jo Glasspool
    19 January 2016 / 9:29 pm

    The Natural Soap Orange & Cinnamon sounds lovely.

  88. carole Hiscock
    20 January 2016 / 12:36 am

    Natural Soap Rosemary & Lime

  89. Anita hargreaves
    20 January 2016 / 7:45 am

    Orange and cinnamon sounds lovely, reassuring somehow

  90. philippa self
    20 January 2016 / 1:43 pm

    passion fruit soy candle

  91. Cherokee jones
    20 January 2016 / 3:41 pm

    Photo engraving is amazing so unique :)

  92. Hannah Ingham
    20 January 2016 / 4:45 pm

    Chocolate truffle soy melts!

  93. holly harmsworth
    20 January 2016 / 9:23 pm

    the spiced apple soy candle :)

  94. Gem Cook
    21 January 2016 / 11:51 am

    Absolutely love the Large Water Jug in blue.
    Fantastic Giveaway! Thank you for the chance x

  95. Andrea A
    21 January 2016 / 4:57 pm

    NOMNOM Peanut Butter Chocolate

  96. Helen Russell
    21 January 2016 / 8:41 pm

    I love the spotty throw looks warm and cosy.

  97. Tammy Neal
    21 January 2016 / 11:36 pm

    Natural Soap Orange & Cinnamon sounds nice xx

  98. Charlotte Moore
    22 January 2016 / 7:11 pm

    Lemon curd sounds Great

  99. Yvonne Hannah
    23 January 2016 / 11:42 am

    Hope today’s my lucky day

  100. Katie skeoch
    23 January 2016 / 2:27 pm

    The blue wool throw

  101. Allan Smith
    23 January 2016 / 3:53 pm

    Bara Brith Soy Candle

  102. Amanda noble
    23 January 2016 / 8:42 pm

    I love the large ceramic water jug

  103. Julie Edwards
    24 January 2016 / 8:25 am

    Happy birthday!!
    I love the Chocolate Truffle Soy Candle! Sounds like it would smell divine and help with my chocolate addiction lol xx

  104. Susan Smith
    24 January 2016 / 9:27 am

    The Welsh Slate heart clock, its beautiful

  105. Zinzi Graham
    24 January 2016 / 12:03 pm

    I love the photograph engravings, but I’m a photographer and all round photo geek so that’s to be expected! Hello from another Cornish girl :) <3

  106. Alisha O'Neill
    24 January 2016 / 12:28 pm

    My favorite is Welsh Bake Stone.

  107. Krysta Mahon
    24 January 2016 / 4:25 pm

    I love the the sound of the chocolate truffle soy melts xx

  108. Carrie Truckle
    24 January 2016 / 4:30 pm

    The Welsh slate heart picture frame is lovetly

  109. karen salisbury
    24 January 2016 / 7:48 pm

    coconut melts

  110. Anneka Hulse
    24 January 2016 / 8:42 pm

    Bara Brith Soy Candle

  111. jemma dwyer
    24 January 2016 / 9:18 pm

    Natural Soap Rosemary & Lime :D x

  112. Jo Hutchinson
    25 January 2016 / 2:40 am

    The lavender and citronella soap and Happy blog birthday x

  113. Nat thomason
    25 January 2016 / 2:53 am

    Orange and cinnamon soap

  114. Solange
    25 January 2016 / 4:45 am

    The orange and cinnamon soap sounds lovely.

  115. Sue Stevenson
    25 January 2016 / 8:25 am

    I have the slate placemats and would love a cheese board as it would keep the cheese cool and tasty

  116. kimberley ryan
    25 January 2016 / 12:33 pm

    l love the Rectangular Welsh Slate Placemats

  117. Saran Benjamin
    25 January 2016 / 1:08 pm

    Lemon curd sounds devine

  118. rachel GOLDEN
    25 January 2016 / 7:33 pm

    mixed berry sounds lovely

  119. Shelley Jessup
    25 January 2016 / 11:36 pm

    Their coconut soy melts sound amazing for me!

  120. Laura Kilby
    26 January 2016 / 9:14 am

    I like the sound of the blackberry wine!

  121. Karensalisbury
    26 January 2016 / 1:40 pm

    The lavender soap sounds lusg

  122. Lorraine Mabbitt
    26 January 2016 / 3:11 pm

    Lemon curd sounds great

  123. ruby spiteri
    26 January 2016 / 5:28 pm

    the orange and cinnamon soap sounds lovely x

  124. Megan Mellor
    26 January 2016 / 9:26 pm

    I would love this!

  125. 27 January 2016 / 10:54 am

    Love the Cream Reversible Spotty Throw

  126. tracy sinclair
    27 January 2016 / 3:00 pm

    Love the Soy Candles, the Mince Pie one especially sounds nice x

  127. Kristin Burdsall
    27 January 2016 / 7:04 pm

    I love the slate clocks :)

  128. Vicky Hawkins
    27 January 2016 / 9:34 pm

    Heart Shaped Cheese Board

  129. donna l jones
    28 January 2016 / 2:06 pm

    love the slate cakestand

  130. Kim M
    28 January 2016 / 7:28 pm

    The Orange and Cinnamon Soap sounds lovely

  131. Lynsey Buchanan
    29 January 2016 / 6:20 am

    Holy Berry Soy Candle

  132. cheryl price
    29 January 2016 / 12:40 pm

    I love the slate signs, with moving home soon this is fab

  133. Diana
    30 January 2016 / 12:03 am

    Welsh slate heart shaped clock :)

  134. jules eley
    31 January 2016 / 12:08 pm

    Chocolate Truffle Soy Melts sound amazing!

  135. stephen holman
    31 January 2016 / 4:46 pm

    Lots of lovely items – I especially like the slate items – really liking the cheeseboards like the Deep Caws one :)

  136. Rebecca King
    31 January 2016 / 6:04 pm

    I really like the Large Water Jug

  137. Sheri Darby
    31 January 2016 / 8:57 pm

    Welsh Heather Honey sounds wonderful

  138. Clare B.
    31 January 2016 / 10:35 pm

    Orange and cinnamon soap mmmmm!

  139. Susan B
    1 February 2016 / 7:12 am

    The soy candles are lovely but I’m a sucker for bright colours so am very drawn to the beautiful Large Block Check Wool Throw at £45.00.

  140. Victoria Prince
    1 February 2016 / 8:49 am

    The Spiced Apple Soy Melts :)

  141. Amanda Gregory
    1 February 2016 / 1:57 pm

    Welsh Slate Cheese Board – Cheese Wedge is my favourite but there are loads of brilliant things.

  142. Sheila Reavy
    1 February 2016 / 3:00 pm

    The Passion Fruit soy melts.

  143. Aimee Wright
    1 February 2016 / 4:47 pm

    The Cream Reversible Spotty Throw is so pretty.

  144. lucy
    1 February 2016 / 4:58 pm

    peanut butter chocolates!

  145. Patricia Avery
    1 February 2016 / 5:05 pm

    The Natural Soaps :)

  146. Emma Schofield
    1 February 2016 / 6:04 pm

    The Welsh slate heart shaped clock. It’s lovely .

  147. Andrew Hindley
    1 February 2016 / 6:33 pm

    Love the slate House Signs

  148. Jane Middleton
    1 February 2016 / 7:29 pm

    Natural Soap Lavender & Citronella

  149. charlotte
    1 February 2016 / 7:53 pm

    the slate placemats are lovely

  150. Rebecca roberts
    1 February 2016 / 8:13 pm

    Orange and cinnimon soap lush x

  151. Donna Caldwell
    1 February 2016 / 8:17 pm

    The Welsh slate cake stand

  152. DANIELLE BASSFORD
    1 February 2016 / 8:25 pm

    LOVE :):):)

  153. Lorraine Evemy
    1 February 2016 / 9:07 pm

    I love the beautiful slate placemats

  154. Adrian Bold
    1 February 2016 / 9:19 pm

    Has to be your Natural Soap Grapefruit & Fennel. Love anything grapefruity!

    Good luck everyone!

  155. Helen Gilbert
    1 February 2016 / 9:25 pm

    The large block check wool throws are beautiful..

  156. 1 February 2016 / 11:32 pm

    Being Welsh I love all their products :) my faves are the slate hearts tho with cariad (love) and cwtch (cuddles) on them :)

    Also really sorry but put my twitter id in the rafflecopter instead of instagram! But I already follow you both on insta as @pinkspideruk

  157. lynsey graham
    2 February 2016 / 10:06 am

    orange & cinnamon

  158. Claire Elizabeth Noke
    2 February 2016 / 11:05 am

    i love the plain welsh slate clock :)

  159. Rachel Hughes-Rowlands
    2 February 2016 / 11:41 am

    Would love to win these lovely gifts

  160. Kathleen Bywaters
    2 February 2016 / 12:20 pm

    I love the website’s homely vibe, I also think the chocolate truffle soy melts looks divine! :)

  161. LEE HARDY
    2 February 2016 / 12:58 pm

    orange & cinnamon soap

  162. nicola james
    2 February 2016 / 1:05 pm

    heart slate for pic

  163. Claire Appleton
    2 February 2016 / 2:44 pm

    I bet the Spiced Apple Soy Candle is lovely! It is my favourite scent!

  164. kim neville
    2 February 2016 / 3:55 pm

    Jasmine Soy Candle

  165. helen newton
    2 February 2016 / 6:19 pm

    Orange and Cinammon soap sounds amazing :)

  166. annmarie Crawford
    2 February 2016 / 7:45 pm

    All the berry stuff sounds deivine

  167. Nathalie Taylor
    2 February 2016 / 7:49 pm

    I love the Natural Soaps

  168. Ceri
    2 February 2016 / 7:58 pm

    Lemon curd sounds fab!!

  169. jackie curran
    2 February 2016 / 8:21 pm

    I love the ceramic mugs

  170. MICHELLE
    2 February 2016 / 9:19 pm

    Cream Reversible Spotty Throw

  171. 2 February 2016 / 10:06 pm

    The chocolate truffle melts and mixed berry candles

  172. Karen Richards
    2 February 2016 / 11:04 pm

    The Welsh cake, bara brith and spiced apple soy candles sound nice.

  173. frances hopkins
    3 February 2016 / 4:59 pm

    Welsh slate heart shaped clock

  174. Karl Borowy
    3 February 2016 / 8:01 pm

    Orange & Cinnamon soap

  175. natasha day
    3 February 2016 / 10:15 pm

    spotty reversable throw ,

  176. allison sullivan
    3 February 2016 / 10:22 pm

    i love the slate heart clock it is beautiful

  177. Natalie Crossan
    3 February 2016 / 10:50 pm

    The orange & cinnamon soap sounds delectable!

  178. Kate Davies
    3 February 2016 / 10:56 pm

    I imagine the holly berry wax melts really set the mood at Christmas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *