Bananagrams Wild Tiles Game Review

Surprise post has to be one of my favourite things. By surprise post I really obviously don’t mean the bills that sometimes catch me by surprise, but the surprise parcels that come through the post that you either don’t remember ordering or some one is lovely enough to send you. The Bananagrams Wild Tiles game came as a surprise piece of post.

The people at Bananagrams sent me the Wild Tiles game a couple of weeks ago, and it was very good timing with the boys being due back to school last week. I’m missing having them home already, so roll on the October half term when I get to spend more time with them, and we also go on our fourth mini staycation holiday of the year.

After weeks of being in Summer mode, it was good to get the boys playing a game that involved spelling and using their brains! Along with the game, the lovely people at Bananagrams also sent us a little bundle of goodies for the boys, Harley especially loved the monkey mask.

Bananagrams WildTile

There are several ways that you can play the Bananagrams Wild Tile game, and you can even make up your own games. We tried several of the games that were listed and explained on the instructions.

The boys’ favourite way to play it though was simply to all work as a team and take it in turns to put a word on the table – you link them up like a crossword – and to see if we could manage to use all of the letters up. Even with the wild tiles – which you can use as a replacement for any letter and are cute monkey tiles – we haven’t managed to use all the letters up so far, but we’ll keep trying!

Bananagrams

They really enjoyed playing it, and even better were having so much fun and getting so competitive, that they didn’t even realise it was educational! As I’ve mentioned before in previous posts such as Making Learning Fun, the best way to teach my children is if they don’t realise they are learning and get to have fun at the same time.

Bananagrams Wild Tile is perfect for this, and even better the cute banana shaped bag that holds the game is small enough to pop into a drawer and tidy away easily. It’s also small enough to fit into my handbag or a rucksack for taking away on holiday with us easily, or to a relatives house to keep the boys amused whilst we are there.

Bananagrams Wild Tiles gets a big thumbs up from us! You can pop to the Bananagrams website to check out some of the other games that they make, and to find out where to buy the game – although I did already spy it in Argos.

Stevie x

*we were sent the Bananagrams Wild Tile for free for an honest review and as always that is what I have done*

A Cornish Mum
**To comment on this blog you do not need to leave your name, email address or website if you don't wish to. Any information entered will remain private and will not be shared with anyone other than the site owner.
Share:

42 Comments

  1. 8 September 2015 / 3:31 pm

    Sounds like such a fun game! Looks like Scrabble!

    • 8 September 2015 / 8:27 pm

      Similar in some ways but way more portable :)

      Stevie x

  2. 11 September 2015 / 7:07 am

    I love this game! We used to use at work and it really helped with spelling? I must get one for Mikey!

    Laura :)
    Xx

    #PicknMix

    • 11 September 2015 / 9:21 am

      It’s come in handy for finding out which words the boys think they can spell but really can’t…have been some hilarious misspellings bless them! ;) Plus it looks like a banana! ;)

      Stevie xx

  3. 11 September 2015 / 8:06 am

    I’ve been looking at these for age! Oscar’s just learnt his letters and is pointing them all out to me, but I think think Ben and I would love it most! Love your boys version of the game! A Christmas game for sure! #PicknMix

    • 11 September 2015 / 9:24 am

      You should check out their site lovely, they have a few other word games on there and they are in the shape of pears and more ha! You could have a fruit cocktail games evening ;)

      Stevie x

  4. sarah
    11 September 2015 / 8:39 am

    Looks like a lot of fun!

    • 11 September 2015 / 9:25 am

      It definitely is :)

      Stevie x

  5. Sara @ Handy Herbs
    11 September 2015 / 9:03 am

    Looks great fun and educational like you say. The lack of a board clearly makes it more portable and also easier for younger children as it removes some of the restrictions of a game like scrabble. Will have to check this out. Love portable games. Thanks for sharing #PicknMix

    • 11 September 2015 / 9:26 am

      They have some more fun ones on their site as well :)

      Stevie x

  6. 11 September 2015 / 9:08 am

    What a super fun game for little monkeys everywhere! :)

    • 11 September 2015 / 9:27 am

      I love the bag it comes in, they even make games in a pear shape and more so cute!

      Stevie x

  7. 11 September 2015 / 9:45 am

    This is brilliant. I love the bag! This is perfect for playing in restaurants isn’t it! Or for on the go. We play lots of games if we go out for dinners with my family or at Christmas. I think I need to get this because it’s a lot more portable that Articulate! x

    • 11 September 2015 / 10:56 am

      You should check out their site lovely as they have more games on there in similar packaging but other fruits as well ;) It’s perfect handbag size so it will definitely be coming glamping with us in October!

      Stevie x

  8. 11 September 2015 / 10:51 am

    I can imagine your boys playing this and I have to say that they are impressive words! Mine would probably consist of a lot of 3/4/5 letters :) xx #PicknMix

    • 11 September 2015 / 10:57 am

      The longest ones were form Harley ha, he ws very smug that he could think of longer words than I could! ;)

      Stevie xx

  9. Becky, Cuddle Fairy
    11 September 2015 / 11:10 am

    Sounds like a great game – I like that there’s a couple different ways to play it! It’s definitely board game time of year again! Lovely review Stevie #PicknMix x

    • 11 September 2015 / 2:42 pm

      I love the Autumn and Winter as it’s only when it’s raining or freezing cold that my children stay indoors and spend time with me these days ha! ;)

      Stevie x

  10. 11 September 2015 / 12:03 pm

    This looks great – my boys are too young at the minute but I’d love the play it :-) #picknmix xx

    • 11 September 2015 / 2:43 pm

      I’m pretty sure I saw a version on their site where the letters were bigger for smaller people … although obviously being able to read and spell comes in handy to ;)

      Stevie xx

  11. 11 September 2015 / 2:29 pm

    Sounds like fun! I have never played Bananagrams, but I got it for my dad last year so will have to try it! Hadn’t seen this wild tiles version before. #picknmix

    • 11 September 2015 / 2:57 pm

      The main difference is you get some cute monkey tiles as far as I can tell ;)

      Stevie x

  12. 11 September 2015 / 2:51 pm

    Ooh that looks like fun – we haven’t played this before ! #PickNMix

    • 11 September 2015 / 6:25 pm

      It is, though boys being boys there were a few rude words added that I took back out ;)

      Stevie x

    • 11 September 2015 / 6:26 pm

      I never know what to buy my Dad! :)

      Stevie x

  13. 11 September 2015 / 8:15 pm

    This looks a really fun game for kiddies, bet the boys loved it. Great for all the family x

    • 11 September 2015 / 9:52 pm

      We’re all quite competitive in this house, so it makes games quite funny as we try to outdo each other ;)

      Stevie xx

  14. 12 September 2015 / 12:53 pm

    I really want one of these. Love playing these types of games with the kids and without them, nice change from anything electronic games related! #picknmix

    • 12 September 2015 / 1:17 pm

      We love games in our house, perfect for wintery wet afternoons :)

      Stevie x

  15. Emma's Mamma
    12 September 2015 / 5:04 pm

    Sounds like a great game and clever that you can play it in different ways. Great review x #PicknMix

    • 12 September 2015 / 10:16 pm

      Thanks hon, we enjoyed trying this one :)

      Stevie x

  16. 13 September 2015 / 10:35 am

    I’ve heard great things about this game before! I’ve always loved word games likes this. Hubby and I used to compete at scrabble too! Definitely one on the list for me for when E is a little older as I think it will be something he will love too! #picknmix

    • 13 September 2015 / 1:15 pm

      My boys definitely love it :)

      Stevie x

  17. 13 September 2015 / 4:38 pm

    Love Scrabble play it most evenings (on the computer) but this would be perfect for the girls and great for taking on holidays as no board to carry about with you. Thanks for the review #PickNMix

    • 14 September 2015 / 12:19 pm

      We love all sorts of games in our house :)

      Stevie x

  18. 13 September 2015 / 10:49 pm

    This looks like a really fun game. This would make the perfect Christmas gifts for older kids. :) #PicknMix

    • 14 September 2015 / 12:25 pm

      I’m starting to do little bits of Christmas shopping at the moment, love Christmas ;)

      Stevie x

  19. 14 September 2015 / 8:36 am

    This game looks sooo cool. Looks like scrabble without the board, which must be good – I’d like to make my own rules! And it comes in a banana bag – even better! #picknmix Sabrina xx

    • 14 September 2015 / 12:28 pm

      The banana bag is seriously cute as are the little monkey tiles :)

      Stevie xx

  20. Gemma @ Confessions of a nagging mother
    15 September 2015 / 10:33 am

    We have this game! The kids love it! Definitly keeps their minds working outside the school gates!

    Gemma xxx

    • 15 September 2015 / 11:19 am

      Anything that tricks them in to learning is fine by me ;)

      Stevie xx