Posie Pixie and The Pancakes – Book Review

I was recently sent a children’s book to review called Posie Pixie and The Pancakes, which is book 7 of a series called The Whimsy Wood. The book isn’t really what my boys usually read, but I agreed to do the review, because the author is lovely, the book has been signed and I am going to donate it to a raffle to raise money for a local Children’s Hospice.

The hospice is part of Children’s Hospice Southwest, and is the same charity that we did the Minion Fun Run for. Simon’s nephew does a lot of fundraising work for them, so I will be donating the book with the author’s permission to him to use to raise a little bit more.

This isn’t the first time the author has helped a charity, as they donate 10% of all profits from the sale of their book series to The Wildlife Trusts UK.

The Whimsy Wood book series is written by Sarah Hill and illustrated by Sarah Mauchline. This latest book from their series (of 35 books) is due to be launched and released on Saturday June 27th at the White Horse Book Shop in Marlborough, Wiltshire from 2.30pm.

The initial impression of book 7 Posie Pixie And The Pancakes, was definitely a good one. The book has a lovely illustrated cover, the front picture although very cute, is not actually my favourite part.

Posie Pixie and the pancakes

My favourite bit of the whole cover is on the back of the book. It’s the fact that on the back cover, unlike the usual quote of what adults thought of the book, on this book it quotes the children.

They are after all the ones who read the book, or at least listen to the book as an adult reads, and therefore their opinions are very important – I challenge you to try and tell any young child differently, they’ll soon set you straight!

Book 7 of the series is all about Posie Pixie making pancakes and eating rather too many of them with Wibble the Woodlouse. I like the fact that the story has some important messages in there for children about not littering and that eating a balanced diet is important.

The illustrations all through the book are simply adorable.

Posie Pixie

There are plenty of examples of alliteration such as Foggy February throughout the book, and other opportunities for some literary learning for children. Sarah Hill even goes into primary schools for author visits to talk about the book and do some work with children.

You can try to win a copy of the book below or if you would like to purchase it yourself or the set of books (currently £25!) then you can visit the Abela Publishing website.

Sarah has been kind enough to offer me 5 copies of Posy Pixie and the pancakes for my readers to win, and will even sign them for you addressed to a name of your choice! To enter please use the rafflecopter below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

U, me and the kids
**To comment on this blog you do not need to leave your name, email address or website if you don't wish to. Any information entered will remain private and will not be shared with anyone other than the site owner.
Share:

78 Comments

  1. 17 June 2015 / 10:01 pm

    I love children’s books, especially those with fabulous illustrations as well as being wonderfully written. Of course, the writer’s imagination can go wild when it comes to writing for children. As adults we usually miss out on magical, fantastical worlds and settings and stick with what’s real. I’m lucky in that although my boys have long since needed a mum to read to them, I still get to read to the children in my class. I sometimes wonder who enjoys the stories the most! xx

    • 18 June 2015 / 11:50 am

      I do love children’s books! This one is especially cute, and I’m hoping whoever wins it at the next Childrens Hospice event Brandon does loves it.

      Stevie xx

  2. kim plant
    18 June 2015 / 12:02 pm

    love pancakes xx

    • 18 June 2015 / 12:16 pm

      Me too ;) Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  3. Tracy Nixon
    18 June 2015 / 7:48 pm

    I love pancakes but only ever seem to make them on Shrove Tuesday! I should make them more often!

    • 18 June 2015 / 10:01 pm

      I am an awful pancake maker, I have no idea why I’m so hopeless but think I might do some practising ;)

      Stevie x

  4. iain maciver
    18 June 2015 / 9:07 pm

    pancakes with golden syrup

    • 18 June 2015 / 10:02 pm

      yum, good luck!

      Stevie :)

  5. Kim Neville
    18 June 2015 / 10:32 pm

    They sound lovely books. I like pancakes with hot chocolate sauce :-)

    • 18 June 2015 / 10:34 pm

      Well now I need someone to make that for me! Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  6. clair downham
    19 June 2015 / 6:39 am

    pancakes with lemon and sugar yummmy

    • 19 June 2015 / 10:10 am

      They always remind me of being a child when I have them like that :) Good Luck,

      Stevie

  7. Sharon Herbert
    19 June 2015 / 8:24 am

    MMMMMM I love pancakes too with lots of cherries and ice-cream x x x

    • 19 June 2015 / 10:10 am

      Minus the cherries for me :) Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  8. Susan Lloyd
    19 June 2015 / 9:09 am

    Pancakes with cream and chocolate sauce x

    • 19 June 2015 / 10:10 am

      yum! Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  9. Paula Readings
    19 June 2015 / 9:25 am

    I do like pancakes especially with sugar & Lemon, I also like lots of other foods to, especially chocolate.

    • 19 June 2015 / 10:11 am

      Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  10. Laura Pritchard
    19 June 2015 / 3:03 pm

    Tomato soup & French bread

    • 19 June 2015 / 6:15 pm

      Sounds yummy to me :) Good luck,

      Stevie

  11. claire woods
    20 June 2015 / 11:37 am

    I love pizza.

    • 20 June 2015 / 12:54 pm

      Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  12. aaron broad
    20 June 2015 / 4:12 pm

    My favourite food is waffles

    • 20 June 2015 / 8:07 pm

      Good luck!

      Stevie :)

  13. 20 June 2015 / 6:41 pm

    I love cupcakes! But pancakes are delicious too!

    • 20 June 2015 / 8:04 pm

      I’m getting hungry now ha! Good luck,

      Stevie

  14. Lynsey Buchanan
    20 June 2015 / 10:55 pm

    I love pizza

    • 20 June 2015 / 11:18 pm

      Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  15. lynn heath
    21 June 2015 / 2:22 pm

    I do like pancakes a lot, but I think my favourite food is a nice big roast dinner!!!!

    • 21 June 2015 / 3:45 pm

      Good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  16. Linda McGarrigle
    21 June 2015 / 3:32 pm

    i love Chips x

    • 21 June 2015 / 3:46 pm

      Good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  17. 22 June 2015 / 8:52 pm

    My pleasure hon, thanks for hosting x

  18. Elizabeth Hinds
    22 June 2015 / 9:33 pm

    I do love pancakes!! Especially savoury pancakes :) Not very good at making them though so usually leave that to hubby ;-)

    • 22 June 2015 / 10:01 pm

      Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  19. Vivian
    22 June 2015 / 9:59 pm

    Love gluten free pancakes with raspberries and cream

    • 22 June 2015 / 10:02 pm

      Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  20. lindsay chadburn
    23 June 2015 / 1:35 am

    my whole family love pancakes!!!

    • 23 June 2015 / 10:15 am

      Good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  21. Jo m welsh
    23 June 2015 / 6:50 am

    Love pancakes with chocolate sauce x

    • 23 June 2015 / 10:16 am

      Good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  22. leanne weir
    23 June 2015 / 7:40 am

    pancakes with lemon and sugar and jam – yumm

    • 23 June 2015 / 10:16 am

      Good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  23. Kerry Locke
    23 June 2015 / 9:35 am

    Not pancakes for me. …. but a huge porridge fan – especially with blueberries

    • 23 June 2015 / 10:20 am

      I love porridge, good luck

      Stevie :)

  24. Stephanie Tsang
    23 June 2015 / 1:04 pm

    My favourite food is chips.

    • 23 June 2015 / 6:12 pm

      good luck

      Stevie :)

  25. Michelle Banks
    23 June 2015 / 7:06 pm

    pancakes with ice cream x

    • 23 June 2015 / 7:21 pm

      Ooh yum! Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  26. Sarah Rees
    23 June 2015 / 9:34 pm

    Pancakes and syrup

    • 23 June 2015 / 11:31 pm

      good luck!

      Stevie :)

  27. Kirsty Fox
    23 June 2015 / 11:22 pm

    Chocolate and sweet things :)

    • 23 June 2015 / 11:32 pm

      Good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  28. Sharon Herbert
    2 July 2015 / 10:56 pm

    Pancakes with honey and lemon

    • 3 July 2015 / 11:07 am

      Good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  29. 6 July 2015 / 11:56 am

    Good Luck! :)

    Stevie