#SpyNetMission – Spynet Laser Trip Wire Review

We were very lucky recently to be sent a Spynet Laser Trip Wire kit from Jakks Pacific for the boys to review and complete a secret mission with.

Spynet Mission

The image on the box looks amazing, but obviously the laser isn’t quite like they show it on there, as the picture is for illustration only, and for the RRP of £24.99 you can’t really expect high tech military grade lasers! Plus if you can see the lasers, they’re a lot easier to avoid, and where’s the fun in that?

Spynet

In the box you get the laser, two mirror units with suction cups to stick to all manner of places, and an alarm sensor. The alarm is definitely loud! Here’s a little YouTube video I made with the boys earlier today, when I set them a secret mission and teased them a little (for quite a while before as well…) with an early Christmas present each.

We only used one of the mirrors in our video, as I was hopeless at lining the laser up and Si wasn’t home! Si found it a lot easier than I did, so I think it was just me. They are a little bit fiddly to do though in my opinion. Once set up they do work really well, just remember once you’ve turned them on to press the reset button, as if the button on top isn’t glowing red, then it’s not active.

I discovered this after we had tried filming our YouTube video twice before we succeeded…

The boys loved playing with the tripwire, and I have a horrible suspicion I’ll be setting alarms off all over the place in future. I am actually tempted to set it up around the Christmas tree this year, to prevent any one sneaking a peek at any of the presents underneath it.

Stevie x

 *we were given the above product for the purpose of this review, but all thoughts and opinions as ever are mine and honest*

**To comment on this blog you do not need to leave your name, email address or website if you don't wish to. Any information entered will remain private and will not be shared with anyone other than the site owner.
Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

35 Comments

  1. Jodie Allen at Budget Beauty and Babies
    13 November 2015 / 10:38 am

    That looks amazing! What an awesome gadget! Great for boys but i hope it doesn’t bring you too much stress! :) #PicknMix

    • 13 November 2015 / 11:44 am

      Ha it is very noisy, but luckily I have them (mostly) well trained so it won’t be waking me at 5 am or anything ;)

      Stevie x

  2. 13 November 2015 / 10:53 am

    It looks pretty cool! I remember as a kid always being a little disappointed when the toy wasn’t quite the same is it looked on the advert or in the box. You should defo guard the tree with it. Sarah #picknmix

    • 13 November 2015 / 11:48 am

      Yep I know what you mean there, some adverts shouldn’t be allowed as it gets kids so excited when the reality is very different in a lot of cases,

      Stevie x

  3. 13 November 2015 / 10:56 am

    Having round the Christmas tree is an awesome idea. You have to do that! Think my boys are too young for this yet…though, my husband would probably enjoy it!

    #PickNMix

    • 13 November 2015 / 11:55 am

      Thinking about the Christmas tree I need to buy a new one this year I think…not sure it survived one of the boys trying to climb it last year when we left them with teen members of the family babysitting last year ;) You’d hope they’d know better they’re 9 and 11 now, pretty funny tho! ;)

      Stevie x

  4. 13 November 2015 / 12:00 pm

    My boys would have so much fun with this. I just got Ben the spy glasses and door alarm from this range for his Birthday this week and he loves them. Really impressed with the quality of these products at such a reasonable price. #picknmix

    • 13 November 2015 / 12:16 pm

      I’ve seen the spy glasses advertised and thought they looked like fun :)

      Stevie x

    • 13 November 2015 / 12:18 pm

      Ooh now you’re talking ;) I could set up a perimeter around the bathroom door when I’m in the shower so no one can knock on the door and try to start random conversations with me ha ;)

      Stevie x

  5. 13 November 2015 / 12:52 pm

    This looks SO cool, the males in my house would love it #picknmix

    • 13 November 2015 / 1:16 pm

      Noisy and cheeky always goes down well in this house ;)

      Stevie x

  6. 13 November 2015 / 1:32 pm

    We could definitely do with a trip wire round the tree in our house! #picknmix

    • 13 November 2015 / 7:08 pm

      I get tempted to booby trap where I hide the presents ;)

      Stevie x

  7. 13 November 2015 / 1:42 pm

    I can think of so many applications for this. There is a way for the teenager to sneak out through the garage that she hasn’t discovered yet. If she ever does, I’ll be picking this up

    • 13 November 2015 / 9:43 pm

      Ha sounds like a plan ;) I’d suggest sneaking a wind charm on to her bedroom door handle at night ;)

      Stevie

  8. 13 November 2015 / 2:42 pm

    This looks like great fun – certainly a step up from my brother’s spy trap of push pins all over the bedroom carpet when we were kids! #picknmix

    • 13 November 2015 / 9:45 pm

      Ouch those things really hurt when you stand on them!!

      Stevie x

  9. 13 November 2015 / 7:42 pm

    This looks fun – I like the idea of setting it up around the Christmas tree too ha ha :) #picknmix

    • 13 November 2015 / 9:49 pm

      I do like messing with the boys, so think I’ll definitely be setting some traps for them ;)

      Stevie x

    • 13 November 2015 / 9:52 pm

      It was fun to play with once I finally got the hang of lining it up! ;)

      Stevie

  10. 14 November 2015 / 12:25 am

    Ha perfect use I reckon :))

    Stevie x

  11. 14 November 2015 / 1:32 am

    This sounds like a lot of fun! #picknmix

  12. Robyn
    14 November 2015 / 8:36 am

    While my baby is a bit young for this, I think my husband would love it (he’s a bit of a prankster!) Great idea to use it as a booby trap around the Christmas tree, I got a giggle out of that! #picknmix

    • 14 November 2015 / 10:07 am

      I do like to wind my children up, I’m forever hiding behind things and jumping out on the poor boys….they give as good as they get though! ;0

      Stevie x

  13. 15 November 2015 / 2:46 pm

    This looks so much fun! My husband would love it haha! #PickNMix xx

    • 15 November 2015 / 3:02 pm

      They’re usually worse than the kids aren’t they?!! ;)

      Stevie xx

  14. Phili
    16 November 2015 / 2:05 pm

    My 9yo has asked for something similar to this for xmas, the idea being that it will stop his sisters getting in his room. He doesn’t realise that if he locked, bolted and razor wired his door, they’d still find a way :-) #picknmix

    • 16 November 2015 / 2:18 pm

      Ha that’s sisters for you – I have 4! One of my sisters used to put tape down the middle of the room so I wasn’t allowed in her half…I was always silly enough to let her have the side with the door!! ;)

      Stevie x

  15. 17 November 2015 / 8:13 pm

    Haha love the video, definitely some cheating going on there! x

    • 17 November 2015 / 8:36 pm

      Little monkeys….although after filming I realised my hob really needed a clean ha!

      Stevie x

  16. 20 November 2015 / 7:56 am

    Looks like a great toy! I am sure Monket would love playing this with his friends when he’s a bit older. Fab idea about setting it up around the tree too. Thanks for hosting #PicknMix sorry my comments late this week we’ve not had wifi so struggling a bit at the moment! Xx

    • 20 November 2015 / 11:45 am

      Not to worry lovely, and eek no wifi is sadly my idea of a nightmare ;)

      Stevie xx