UV Buddy Bracelet Review – Sun Safety.

I have recently been asked to review a bracelet from the UV Buddy collection, they are a Cornish company who design and create ultraviolet reactive jewellery and accessories. I had the choice of which bracelet to order for myself, so of course I opted for the Cornish coloured one.

Cornwall Colour UV Buddy

I love my new bracelet, but it’s really not just a fashion accessory. The wonderful husband and wife team at UV Buddy have created a range of bracelets, rings, necklaces, bag charms, and many more for men, women and children.

Whilst these are different items, they all have one very important thing in common, they are all made with ultraviolet light detecting beads. These beads appear white when indoors and not subjected to any UV light, and darken (different beads have different colours within them) when exposed to ultraviolet light.

The amount that the beads darken depends on how much ultraviolet light there is, and I was amazed whilst testing my bracelet out, just how much UV there can be even on a cloudy day. On cloudy days it doesn’t occur to me to put sun cream on my children, as I wouldn’t have thought they needed it, but UV buddy has shown me I am definitely wrong, and that UV is very sneaky!

The photo below is my bracelet on a not very warm, cloudy day, notice my beads have still turned purple.

Cornwall UV Buddy

I love the fact that their range of products can help you to know when to put the sun cream on, and also work as a reminder to do so. If you put a little sun cream on one of their beads it actually stops from changing colour, or changes to a much lighter colour than the other beads, so it goes to show just what a difference sun cream can make in protecting you.

Along with my bracelet I also received a booklet from Skcin, who are a skin cancer charity that UV Buddy works with to raise awareness of skin cancer and to promote sun safety. The leaflet shows you how to spot abnormal moles, and gives you a small guide on skin cancer and sun safety.

It also tells you a scary fact, that just one blistering sunburn as a child or adolescent more than doubles a person’s chance of developing melanoma later in life.

As nice as it can feel to have a tan, after reading this booklet, I know I need to stop being vain and look after my skin better, and be more sun safe. I’m sure my UV Buddy bracelet will help me with that, as I have yet to take it off!

I love my bracelet, and I love that it has a use other than an aesthetic one. I would definitely recommend their products to anyone, as not only are they attractive, they will hopefully help to reduce the number of people getting sunburnt, and risking their health as a result. I’ve already been showing mine to a lot of Mum’s at school who agreed it’s a brilliant idea.

The lovely people at UV Buddy have also sent me a bracelet to give away as a competition prize, the entry is via rafflecopter below. This is what you could win…

UV Buddy Competition

All of UV Buddy’s products are very reasonably priced, so if you don’t win the competition or just want to buy your own, then you can go to the UV Buddy website.

UV-Buddy.com logo
a Rafflecopter giveaway

ThePrizeFinder – See more at: http://www.theprizefinder.com/content/uv-buddy-bracelet#sthash.BvfQQVNj.dpuf

U, me and the kids
**To comment on this blog you do not need to leave your name, email address or website if you don't wish to. Any information entered will remain private and will not be shared with anyone other than the site owner.
Share:

241 Comments

  1. Tracey Peach
    17 May 2015 / 1:19 pm

    Go for a walk along the beach xxx

    • 17 May 2015 / 1:37 pm

      Definitely one of my favourites :) Good Luck Tracey,

      Stevie x

  2. 17 May 2015 / 1:26 pm

    I love these,so pretty and fab like you say for reminding you to get the suncream on the kids x

    • 17 May 2015 / 1:37 pm

      It really is such a clever idea, I have to admit I may have been hopping inside and outside to see how quickly it changed – such a child!

      Stevie xx

  3. laura banks
    17 May 2015 / 1:36 pm

    sit and read a book

    • 17 May 2015 / 1:39 pm

      I usually carry a book around with me in my bag on walks, ready to find a nice spot to read in the sun :)

      Stevie @_

  4. Tracy Nixon
    17 May 2015 / 1:53 pm

    We live by the beach so it is nice to have a walk along it on a sunny day as the sunshine seems to bring out all the little yacts, boats and even surfers!

    • 17 May 2015 / 3:51 pm

      I love the beach, good luck Tracy,

      Stevie :)

  5. 17 May 2015 / 2:02 pm

    My and Midge love sitting out reading these are a really good idea, never knew they existed..it’s amazing how much UV there is on a miserable day too! x

    • 17 May 2015 / 3:52 pm

      They are very clever, and I didn’t now they existed either until recently! Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  6. 17 May 2015 / 2:11 pm

    Being a redhead and prone to burning in the sun, I always stay in the shade with a good book. xx

    • 17 May 2015 / 3:53 pm

      I can’t usually stand just lying in the sun for too long, but I love going for walks on sunny days :)

      Stevie xx

  7. iain maciver
    17 May 2015 / 2:21 pm

    Go for a walk along the beach

  8. Tony Teece
    17 May 2015 / 2:25 pm

    Taking the dogs for a walk. Seeing them out and about is heaven :)

    • 17 May 2015 / 3:54 pm

      I love going for walks with my boys, my Dad and his dog on sunny days :) Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  9. ELIZABETH DOODY
    17 May 2015 / 2:46 pm

    Long walks with the dog over the fields

  10. Martin Rousseau
    17 May 2015 / 2:47 pm

    What a great idea.

    • 17 May 2015 / 3:55 pm

      They definitely are, good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  11. Fay Smith
    17 May 2015 / 3:48 pm

    Going for a long walk with the kids and our dog :)

    • 17 May 2015 / 3:56 pm

      Sounds lovely, good luck,

      Stevie :)

  12. Caroline H
    17 May 2015 / 4:40 pm

    Getting out for a long walk in the country and a picnic.

    • 17 May 2015 / 6:58 pm

      Sounds lovely to me, good luck!

      Stevie :)

  13. Allan Smith
    17 May 2015 / 5:08 pm

    Going to the lake

  14. Ashleigh Allan
    17 May 2015 / 5:26 pm

    Have a picnic!

    • 17 May 2015 / 6:59 pm

      Good Luck and thanks for entering,

      Stevie :)

  15. anita hargreaves
    17 May 2015 / 6:46 pm

    Haven’t been away for years but loved collecting shells

    • 17 May 2015 / 7:04 pm

      My boys still enjoying doing that at the beach, it’s like a ready made treasure hunt :)

      Stevie :)

  16. 17 May 2015 / 7:02 pm

    I still haven’t taken mine off other than at bedtime, it’s also so comfy I keep forgetting it’s there til I go outside and keep checking it!

    Stevie x

  17. melanie stirling
    17 May 2015 / 9:08 pm

    As I have very limited mobility,I just like to sit in the sun.

  18. claire woods
    17 May 2015 / 10:15 pm

    go to the beach.

  19. Kristy Brown
    18 May 2015 / 9:19 am

    Visit the beach (and sneakily peek at the half naked men)

    • 18 May 2015 / 2:06 pm

      Ha, sunglasses at the ready then! Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  20. caroline walliss
    18 May 2015 / 9:35 am

    Read a book on my kindle!x

    • 18 May 2015 / 2:07 pm

      I love mine :) Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  21. Angela Treadway
    18 May 2015 / 11:37 am

    Building sandcastles with my two boys xx

    • 18 May 2015 / 2:08 pm

      Sounds fun :) Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

    • 18 May 2015 / 2:10 pm

      It really is a clever idea, and not something I’d heard of before!

      Stevie :)

  22. 18 May 2015 / 12:42 pm

    Big fans of UV Buddy here. We have two since last year. They make great gifts too. They should be compulsory in all schools, creches etc. Love this product!

    • 18 May 2015 / 2:12 pm

      They are brilliant aren’t they?! Love mine, and not taken it off yet :)

      Stevie x

  23. Sarah Rees
    18 May 2015 / 2:06 pm

    Picnics on the beach

  24. gill knowles
    18 May 2015 / 3:36 pm

    I like strolling a long the beach at night. Romantic. Xx

    • 18 May 2015 / 6:09 pm

      Good luck and thanks for entering!

      Stevie x

  25. Sharon Herbert
    18 May 2015 / 4:18 pm

    Sitting on a gorgeous beach

    • 18 May 2015 / 6:09 pm

      One of my favourite things to do :) Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  26. Ruth Harwood
    19 May 2015 / 8:49 am

    Swim!!

    • 19 May 2015 / 12:37 pm

      I love swimming, good luck!

      Stevie :)

  27. tina holmes
    19 May 2015 / 10:36 am

    picnic in the park!

    • 19 May 2015 / 12:40 pm

      We love doing that as well, good luck!

      Stevie :)

  28. andrea tinkler
    19 May 2015 / 3:10 pm

    Love doing the garden then sitting with a nice drink and enjoying the fruit of my labours. Must say i love the idea of these bracelets

    • 19 May 2015 / 6:52 pm

      They are very clever! :) Good Luck,

      Stevie.

  29. ELAINE DALE
    19 May 2015 / 3:18 pm

    go for a long walk

  30. Jane Wilson
    19 May 2015 / 5:38 pm

    Go to the beach

    • 19 May 2015 / 6:53 pm

      Good luck and thanks for entering!

      Stevie :)

  31. laura stewart
    19 May 2015 / 6:17 pm

    i like gardening xx

  32. Pauline Simpson
    19 May 2015 / 6:58 pm

    My very pale scouting Daughter could do with this

  33. Laura
    19 May 2015 / 10:45 pm

    A lovely walk or some gardening

    • 20 May 2015 / 10:27 am

      Both sound good to me! Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

    • 20 May 2015 / 10:29 am

      Me too, and definitely think these products are amazing!

      Stevie x

  34. Rachel Butterworth
    20 May 2015 / 2:28 pm

    This would be a great gift for my nephews, they’re going to Greece soon.

  35. Karen Laing
    21 May 2015 / 4:54 pm

    I don’t really sit in the sun but I love sitting in the shade on a beautiful day reading my book.I also enjoy gardening,I’m not one to do it unless it’s nice x

    • 21 May 2015 / 6:47 pm

      Sounds like bliss to me, good luck!

      Stevie :)

  36. Judith R.
    21 May 2015 / 5:51 pm

    We go to the beach very early in the morning.

  37. 21 May 2015 / 9:42 pm

    Lovely review of a practical product. Yeah, it’s definitely easy to forget about sun protection on the cloudy days. It’s valuable to have a product that reminds you to stay safe. Thanks for linking to #FamilyTested.

    • 21 May 2015 / 9:47 pm

      It is and great that it looks pretty too, means it’s not a chore to remember to wear it!

      Stevie x

  38. leanne weir
    22 May 2015 / 7:53 am

    I usually carry a book around with me

    • 22 May 2015 / 1:45 pm

      Same here, and my camera goes everywhere that I go! Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  39. Sarah Lee
    23 May 2015 / 3:03 am

    I love going to the beach

  40. Rosie Wilcock
    23 May 2015 / 10:35 am

    I love the sun so as long as I’m outside I don’t mind where I am, I do like the beach but the sea is to cold in this part of the country to go for a swim. Good luck to all other entrants

    • 23 May 2015 / 2:17 pm

      Good luck and thank you for entering :)

      Stevie

  41. Karen Barrett
    24 May 2015 / 2:43 pm

    I love gardening in the sunshine.

    • 24 May 2015 / 6:30 pm

      Good luck and thank you for entering :)

      Stevie

  42. Michelle Banks
    25 May 2015 / 4:16 pm

    i love doing the gardening when its sunny x

    • 25 May 2015 / 4:23 pm

      Good luck and thanks for entering Michelle :)

      Stevie x

  43. 25 May 2015 / 4:49 pm

    Try a new SunFriend wearable UV monitor that is customizable to your skin color and uses NASA award-winning sensing technology.

  44. aaron broad
    26 May 2015 / 12:31 pm

    I enjoy being in the garden having a BBQ or something when it’s sunny

    • 26 May 2015 / 2:03 pm

      I’m looking forward to this when our new garden is finished :) Good Luck,

      Stevie

  45. Michelle Kemp
    26 May 2015 / 10:31 pm

    Kayaking

    • 27 May 2015 / 1:43 pm

      Sounds good to me, good luck

      Stevie :)

  46. Kirsty Fox
    26 May 2015 / 11:02 pm

    Gardening

  47. Scott Fallon
    28 May 2015 / 1:16 pm

    Play football

    • 31 May 2015 / 9:30 am

      Sounds lovely, good luck!

      Stevie x

  48. kayleigh Bates
    31 May 2015 / 6:29 pm

    We like to go for picnics. THis has really shocked me I never think to put suncream on when it isn’t sunny.

    • 31 May 2015 / 6:45 pm

      It surprised me as well! Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  49. Keith Hunt
    1 June 2015 / 3:13 am

    Beach football with the dogs.

    • 1 June 2015 / 11:31 am

      Sounds fun, good luck!

      Stevie :)

  50. Susan B
    2 June 2015 / 6:00 am

    I like to do absolutely nothing other than enjoy it.

  51. Ken Brown
    2 June 2015 / 1:59 pm

    I just like to sit in the shade with a cool drink and watch the world go by, preferably somewhere exotic.

  52. Tammy Tudor
    2 June 2015 / 8:30 pm

    Having a picnic :)

  53. 4 June 2015 / 6:18 pm

    Oh wow these not only look gorgeous but also such a fab idea!

    • 4 June 2015 / 6:19 pm

      Oh and PS favourite thing to do in the sun is find some shade! :)

      • 4 June 2015 / 6:35 pm

        Ha especially at the moment I’d imagine!

        Stevie x

    • 4 June 2015 / 6:35 pm

      They definitely are hon :)

      Stevie x

  54. Kat Lucas
    4 June 2015 / 10:12 pm

    I love to garden in the sun

  55. Sarah Heath
    6 June 2015 / 11:57 pm

    Enjoying a picnic with my family

    • 7 June 2015 / 12:06 am

      Sounds lovely, good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  56. charlotte
    8 June 2015 / 12:32 pm

    paddle in the sea :)

    • 8 June 2015 / 12:38 pm

      Cold but fun :) Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  57. Christine Caple
    8 June 2015 / 2:28 pm

    Relax with a good book

  58. ESME MCCRUBB
    8 June 2015 / 4:07 pm

    HAVING PICNICS

    • 8 June 2015 / 7:15 pm

      Good Luck and thanks for entering!

      Stevie :)

  59. hayley knapp
    9 June 2015 / 11:38 am

    play with my little boy at the park xx

    • 9 June 2015 / 1:37 pm

      Sounds perfect to me :) Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  60. clair downham
    9 June 2015 / 5:52 pm

    go to the beach with my kids

  61. Michelle Moore
    9 June 2015 / 8:03 pm

    Explore the beach!

  62. kylea
    9 June 2015 / 8:05 pm

    Water fights on a sunny day, our favourite.

    • 9 June 2015 / 9:38 pm

      My boys love those :) Good Luck,

      Stevie

  63. pamela gossage
    9 June 2015 / 10:27 pm

    Paddle in the waves

  64. Keshia Esgate
    9 June 2015 / 10:31 pm

    I like to go for a nice walk. These bracelets are a brilliant idea!

  65. Katie Kingsbury
    10 June 2015 / 10:46 am

    Wow, these are a great idea. I love hiding from the sun, wearing Factor 50 and moaning about my freckles ;-) .

    • 10 June 2015 / 5:33 pm

      I’ve embraced mine over the years, I get really freckly in the Summer! My youngest is nicknamed Freckles because of his, they look gorgeous on him :)

      Stevie

  66. Ema J Lowe
    10 June 2015 / 5:07 pm

    having the paddling pool out and cooling down with the little ones.

    • 10 June 2015 / 5:37 pm

      I usually get in ours with them….after adding warm water of course! Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  67. donna l jones
    10 June 2015 / 8:06 pm

    on the beach building sandcastles

    • 10 June 2015 / 10:09 pm

      sounds good, good luck,

      Stevie :)

  68. Kat Allinson
    10 June 2015 / 10:00 pm

    Play in the paddling pool

  69. Holly Boyd
    11 June 2015 / 12:05 am

    We all love going to the beach and making sandcastles.

  70. E-J
    11 June 2015 / 12:18 pm

    I love to take the whole family out on a long walk. I like to do photography in my spare time, so taking lots of pictures whilst we are out is a must :)

    • 11 June 2015 / 1:17 pm

      Sounds exactly what I like to do! Especially cliff top walks where you can see for miles :)

      Stevie

  71. Cheryl Kean
    11 June 2015 / 7:36 pm

    I like to take my dog on a nice long but relaxing walk x

    • 11 June 2015 / 9:45 pm

      Sounds lovely, good luck

      Stevie x

  72. Diana
    11 June 2015 / 9:19 pm

    Walks in the park :}

    • 11 June 2015 / 9:46 pm

      Good luck and thanks for entering :)

      Stevie

  73. Samantha Atherton
    11 June 2015 / 9:57 pm

    Wow these bracelets sound incredible & in my opinion you can’t beat a splash in the sea when the suns shining.

  74. Lucy Robinson
    11 June 2015 / 9:58 pm

    scooting along the seafront. x

    • 11 June 2015 / 10:22 pm

      Sounds fun! Good luck,

      Stevie :)

  75. MANDY DOHERTY
    11 June 2015 / 10:56 pm

    Taking my grandsons to the Splash Park

    • 12 June 2015 / 9:52 am

      Sounds noisy but fun :) Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  76. Gillian Hutchison
    11 June 2015 / 11:32 pm

    I love getting the paddling pool out in the garden and playing with the children x

  77. Donna Lawton
    12 June 2015 / 6:03 am

    My favourite thing to do is hunt for the shade lol

  78. Jenny
    12 June 2015 / 7:58 am

    You can’t beat a good walk, especially along the beach (I always make sure I have my sun cream on though!) :)

    • 12 June 2015 / 9:56 am

      Same here :) good luck,

      Stevie :)

  79. sarah
    12 June 2015 / 9:01 am

    just watching my kids play outside in a paddling pool

  80. lucinda duxbury
    12 June 2015 / 10:23 am

    bbq :)

    • 12 June 2015 / 11:28 am

      Always a yummy choice! Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  81. DS
    12 June 2015 / 12:30 pm

    We love to picnic in the sun – When there’s sun!

    • 12 June 2015 / 12:35 pm

      Sun’s disappeared from my part of Cornwall the last couple days :( Good Luck!

      Stevie :)

  82. Jade H
    12 June 2015 / 1:08 pm

    Have a picnic

  83. Susan Trubey
    12 June 2015 / 2:21 pm

    Climb trees

  84. Vera Bahounkova
    12 June 2015 / 4:31 pm

    swimming

  85. jo liddement
    12 June 2015 / 4:53 pm

    Living in Cornwall we have plenty of beaches so we like to go to one of the less crowded ones with a picnic and do a bit of rock-pooling, sunhats and sun cream included

    • 12 June 2015 / 6:03 pm

      Same here Jo, I avoid Newquay beaches like the plague after June onwards! Good Luck,

      Stevie :)

  86. Lisa Houston
    12 June 2015 / 6:55 pm

    Play with my children in an outdoor pool

  87. Anthea Holloway
    12 June 2015 / 6:56 pm

    Sit in the garden under the shade of the apple tree and watch the birds and bees busying about.

    • 12 June 2015 / 7:03 pm

      Sounds relaxing, good luck!

      Stevie :)

  88. Louise M
    12 June 2015 / 6:59 pm

    What a great idea these are! me and my little boy love to play in the sun, wearing sun lotion of course :)

  89. Jill fairbank
    12 June 2015 / 7:17 pm

    I love to read but with my 5 year old it doesn’t happen often

  90. Eva Appleby
    12 June 2015 / 7:22 pm

    Go boating

    • 12 June 2015 / 7:24 pm

      sounds good, good luck

      Stevie :)

  91. Lisa Wilkinson
    12 June 2015 / 8:59 pm

    Getting the paddling pool out :)

  92. claire little
    12 June 2015 / 10:14 pm

    picnic in the park :)

    • 12 June 2015 / 10:20 pm

      We like doing that, good luck!

      Stevie :)

  93. Sharon Mclauchlan
    12 June 2015 / 11:15 pm

    have bbq

  94. Joanna Sawka
    12 June 2015 / 11:31 pm

    collecting shells and stones

    • 12 June 2015 / 11:53 pm

      We do that :) Good Luck,

      Stevie

  95. karen Howden
    13 June 2015 / 12:21 am

    I love swimming

  96. Hayley Evans
    13 June 2015 / 12:42 am

    I love to get the kids covered in sun cream and get the paddling pool out

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:00 am

      good luck + thanks for entering

      Stevie :)

  97. Denise S
    13 June 2015 / 3:05 am

    have a family picnic.

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:00 am

      good luck + thanks for entering

      Stevie :)

  98. lindsay chadburn
    13 June 2015 / 4:16 am

    playing frisbee in the park

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:00 am

      good luck + thanks for entering

      Stevie :)

  99. Kirsty Woods
    13 June 2015 / 7:27 am

    Water fight

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:01 am

      good luck + thanks for entering

      Stevie :)

  100. Jackie ONeill
    13 June 2015 / 8:33 am

    go on picnics

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:10 am

      good luck + thanks for entering

      Stevie :)

  101. Stephanie Dunmore
    13 June 2015 / 8:33 am

    Tinkering about on the allotment with my children.

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:10 am

      sounds good, good luck + thanks for entering

      Stevie :)

  102. Katherine Teff
    13 June 2015 / 8:45 am

    We like to go rock pooling and searching for empty shells and sea glass.

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:10 am

      Always fun,good luck + thanks for entering

      Stevie :)

  103. Hayley Todd
    13 June 2015 / 8:56 am

    My favourite thing to do in the glorious sunshine, is to go for the day to our local beach, with a picnic and have lots of fun with the children, playing in the sea, flying kites, building sandcastles and creating memories.

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:11 am

      Sounds perfect :) Good Luck,

      Stevie x

  104. Darlene
    13 June 2015 / 9:47 am

    Hard to pick a favourite. I love sport and play golf, tennis and bowls. All of these are more enjoyable in the sun. I definitely protect my head and face with a visor/sun hat and sun screens on my legs.

    • 13 June 2015 / 9:52 am

      Definitely good to enjoy the outdoors and protect yourself, good luck

      Stevie :)

  105. Rebecca Lis
    13 June 2015 / 10:22 am

    Go to the beach

  106. Tracy Gladman
    13 June 2015 / 11:12 am

    Spending time sitting outside my caravan with the kids playing.

  107. Spencer Broadley
    13 June 2015 / 12:09 pm

    sitting in the shade with beer listening to the cricket on the radio

  108. Claire D
    13 June 2015 / 1:52 pm

    Relaxing in the park

  109. Tamsin Dean
    13 June 2015 / 2:09 pm

    meet up with extended family and go out for the day

  110. Chris Minko
    13 June 2015 / 2:29 pm

    Go for a walk in the woods

  111. Emma
    13 June 2015 / 2:48 pm

    Have a BBQ

  112. Alisa Moore
    13 June 2015 / 2:58 pm

    listen to music

  113. kim styles
    13 June 2015 / 3:41 pm

    canoeing

  114. christine westlake
    13 June 2015 / 3:41 pm

    play with my granddaughter

  115. Denielle Nicol
    13 June 2015 / 3:58 pm

    Lounge in water Dxx

  116. Caroline Signey
    13 June 2015 / 4:39 pm

    Build sandcastles with the kids

  117. Jill Hunter
    13 June 2015 / 5:05 pm

    BBQ, with all the family :)

  118. Martina Alban
    13 June 2015 / 5:53 pm

    sitting in my garden with my best friend and sipping Pimms

  119. Malika
    13 June 2015 / 6:32 pm

    Read a book by the riverside :)

  120. Andrew Seaman
    13 June 2015 / 7:24 pm

    Lying on Westward Ho beach getting a tan

  121. 13 June 2015 / 7:51 pm

    Walking with my dog across the fields from us

  122. Natasha Currie
    13 June 2015 / 8:51 pm

    having a picnic with my fella and 2 sons <3

  123. Natalie Gillham
    13 June 2015 / 9:27 pm

    Have a BBQ with friends and family :)

  124. Monika S
    13 June 2015 / 9:38 pm

    play in a sandpit with my daughter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.